Compounded tirzepatide vs Zepbound: what each costs
Zepbound is FDA-approved; compounded tirzepatide is not. With that said out loud, here is what each route costs in cash.
As of August 31, 2026:
On cash price alone, verified compounded tirzepatide starts at $125 per month (Trimi, 12-month plan, grade B) against a modeled $4,938 per year — about $411.50 per month averaged — for brand-name Zepbound self-pay. The regulatory difference is the headline, not a footnote: Zepbound is an FDA-approved product with reviewed manufacturing; compounded tirzepatide is not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality. This page compares prices, not equivalence.
Cheapest verified compounded plans
| Provider | Plan | Advertised /mo | All-in /mo, maintenance dose | 12-month all-in | Dose pricing | Membership | Included | Grade | Verified | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trimicompounded injectable | 12-month plan, prepaid $1,500 | $125 | $125 | $1,500 | same at every dose | not published | care: not published; shipping: not published | B | — | trytrimi.com | |
| NexLifecompounded injectable | 12-month plan, billing not stated | $139 | $139 | $1,668 | same at every dose | none | care and shipping | A | — | nexlife.us | |
| Telos RXcompounded injectable | 12-month plan, billing not stated | $139 | $139 | $1,668 | not published | not published | care: not published; shipping: not published | B | record corrected August 25, 2026 | telosrx.com | |
| CoreAge Rxcompounded injectable | 12-month plan, prepaid $1,788 | $149 | $149 | $1,788 | same at every dose | not published | care: not published; shipping: not published | B | — | coreagerx.com | |
| Sunlightcompounded injectable | month-to-month | $157 | $157 | $1,884 | not published | not published | care: not published; shipping: not published | B | record corrected August 25, 2026 | sunlight.com |
Zepbound self-pay routes
| Provider | Plan | Advertised /mo | All-in /mo, maintenance dose | 12-month all-in | Dose pricing | Membership | Included | Grade | Verified | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LillyDirect brandbrand-name vial | month-to-month | $299 | $449 | $4,938 | rises with dose | none | care: paid; shipping included | B | — | zepbound.lilly.com | |
| Ro brandbrand-name pen | month-to-month | $299 | $449 | $4,977 | rises with dose | not published | care and shipping | B | — | ro.co |
Grades: A = price and terms verified on the provider’s page; B = price verified, some terms unpublished; C = introductory price only; D = third-party report, not verified by us; U = no public price. Grade D rows are shown for completeness and are never counted in verified statistics. Full definitions.
Questions this page answers
Is compounded tirzepatide the same as Zepbound?
No. Zepbound is an FDA-approved finished drug product; compounded tirzepatide is prepared by compounding pharmacies and is not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality. They sit in different regulatory categories, and this site compares their prices without implying equivalence.
How much cheaper is compounded tirzepatide?
On cash price alone, verified compounded tirzepatide starts at $125 per month (Trimi, 12-month plan, grade B) against a modeled $4,938 per year — about $411.50 per month averaged — for brand-name Zepbound self-pay. The regulatory difference is the headline, not a footnote: Zepbound is an FDA-approved product with reviewed manufacturing; compounded tirzepatide is not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality. This page compares prices, not equivalence.